• s

  • m

  • t

  • w

  • h

  • f

  • s

  • 18

  • 19

  • 20

  • 21

  • 22

  • 23

  • 24

  • 25

  • 26

  • 27

  • 28

  • 29

  • 30

  • 31

  • 1

  • 2

  • 3

  • 4

  • 5

  • 6

  • 7

  • 8

  • 9

  • 10

  • 11

  • 12

  • 13

  • 14

  • 15

  • 16

  • 17

  • 18

  • 19

  • 20

  • 21



Portland

  • John Vaillant: The Jaguar's Children

    A gripping survival story of a young man trapped, perhaps fatally, during a border crossing, The Jaguar's Children (Houghton Mifflin) is the debut novel from John Vaillant, bestselling author of The Tiger and The Golden Spruce. Héctor is in trouble. The water truck, sealed to hide its human cargo,…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • S.M. Hulse: Black River

    When Wes Carver returns to Black River, he carries two things in the cab of his truck: his wife's ashes and a letter from the prison parole board. The convict who held him hostage during a riot 20 years ago is being considered for release. Wes grew up in this small Montana town and, like his father…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Joyce Carol Oates: The Sacrifice

    Bestselling author Joyce Carol Oates returns with an incendiary new novel that illuminates the tragic impact of sexual violence, racism, brutality, and power on innocent lives and probes the persistence of stereotypes, the nature of revenge, the complexities of truth, and our insatiable hunger for …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Arthur Bradford: Turtleface and Beyond

    Turtleface and Beyond (Farrar Straus Giroux) features darkly funny stories by Arthur Bradford, the man David Sedaris calls "the most outlandish and energetic writer I can think of." Paddling down a remote, meandering river, Georgie's friend Otto decides to do something both spectacular and stupid: …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • The Evil Hours: A Biography of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

    David J. Morris's The Evil Hours (Eamon Dolan/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) is a moving, eye-opening exploration of post-traumatic stress disorder. Over a decade into the United States' "global war on terror," PTSD afflicts as many as 30 percent of the conflict's veterans. But the disorder's reach …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Me and My Daddy Listen to Bob Marley: Novellas and Stories

    On a sweltering day in August 1942, Frankie Washburn returns to his family's rustic Minnesota resort for one last visit before he joins the war as a bombardier. Awaiting him are those he's about to leave behind: his hovering mother; the distant father to whom he's been a disappointment; the Indian …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • David Treuer: Prudence

    On a sweltering day in August 1942, Frankie Washburn returns to his family's rustic Minnesota resort for one last visit before he joins the war as a bombardier. Awaiting him are those he's about to leave behind: his hovering mother; the distant father to whom he's been a disappointment; the Indian …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • American Reckoning: The Vietnam War and Our National Identity

    How did the Vietnam War change the way we think of ourselves as a people and a nation? Christian G. Appy, author of the widely praised and critically acclaimed oral history of the Vietnam War, Patriots, now examines the relationship between the war's realities and myths and its impact on our national…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Sarah Gerard: Binary Star

    The language of the stars is the language of the body. Like a star, the anorexic burns fuel that isn't replenished; she is held together by her own gravity. With luminous, lyrical prose, Sarah Gerard's Binary Star (Two Dollar Radio) is an impassioned account of a young woman struggling with anorexia…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Carmen Boullosa: Texas, The Great Theft

    Described by Roberto Bolaño (2666, The Savage Detectives) as "Mexico's greatest woman writer," Carmen Boullosa is an imaginative author in the tradition of Jorge Luis Borges and César Aira. With her latest novel, Texas: The Great Theft (Deep Vellum), Boullosa shows herself to be at the height of …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Kyle Boelte in Conversation with Justin Hocking

    At age 30, Kyle Boelte finds himself living in San Francisco, where the summer fog blows inland off the ocean and the landscape changes moment to moment. Amidst this ever-changing sea of fog, Boelte struggles to remember his brother Kris, who committed suicide in the family's Denver home when Boelte…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Kelly Link: Get in Trouble

    Kelly Link has been hailed by Michael Chabon as "the most darkly playful voice in American fiction," by Neil Gaiman as "a national treasure," and by Karen Russell as "Franz Kafka with a better understanding of ladies' footwear and bad first dates." Now Link's eagerly awaited new collection, Get in …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Mark Doten: The Infernal

    The Infernal (Graywolf Press), Mark Doten's utterly original and blackly comic debut, is a fierce, searing response to the chaos of the war on terror. In the early years of the Iraq War, a severely burned boy appears on a remote rock formation in the Akkad Valley. A shadowy, powerful group within …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Palestine Speaks: Narratives of Life under Occupation

    The occupation of the West Bank and Gaza has been one of the world's most widely reported yet least understood human rights crises for over four decades. Editors Cate Malek and Mateo Hoke spent the last four years conducting dozens of interviews with people in the West Bank and Gaza about life in …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Matt Sumell: Making Nice

    In Matt Sumell's blazing, heartbreaking first book, Making Nice (Henry Holt & Company), our rage-filled hero Alby is flailing wildly against the world around him. It seems he is the angriest young man in the history of angry young men, and in each of these stories, we watch him run at life with a …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Ander Monson: Letter to a Future Lover

    Readers of physical books leave traces: marginalia, slips of paper, fingerprints, highlighting, inscriptions. All books have histories, and libraries are not just collections of books and databases, but a medium of long-distance communication with other writers and readers. Ander Monson's Letter to…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • John Benditt: The Boatmaker

    A fierce and complicated man wakes from a fever dream compelled to build a boat and sail away from the isolated island where he was born. Encountering the wider world for the first time, the reluctant hero falls into a destructive love affair, is swept up into a fanatical religious movement, and …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Mary Pilon: The Monopolists

    Mary Pilon's The Monopolists: Obsession, Fury, and the Scandal behind the World's Favorite Board Game (Bloomsbury Publishing) reveals the unknown story of how Monopoly came into existence, the reinvention of its history by Parker Brothers and multiple media outlets, the lost female originator of the…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
Advertisement